Tyrrell County candidates listed

Published 6:09 am Thursday, March 17, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

In Tyrrell County, candidates have filed in the non-partisan Board of Education election for three seats and for two seats on the partisan Board of Commissioners.

On May 17, 2022, voters in Tyrrell County will select three Board of Education members from among six candidates. Incumbent board members are Karen Clough, Robin Dunbar and Carlos Armstrong, all from Columbia. Challengers include BB Hopkins, Joni Marie Liverman and D.M. (Matt) Bryan, all with Columbia addresses. Voters will vote for one candidate. The top three vote-getters win the school board seats.

For the Board of Commissioners, Jordan R. Davis, a Republican, and Nina Basnight Griswell, a Democrat, are incumbents running for reelection. Brenda Respass-Wynn is challenging.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Also, requests for petitions have been filed seeking a commissioner seat.

Filing for petitions are Florian Deltgen and Faye Hemilright, both registered as unaffiliated. Voters in November’s General Election will vote for one candidate. The top two candidates earn the commissioner seats.