Primary election results for federal, statewide and district offices

Published 6:57 pm Saturday, May 21, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

U.S. Senate

This is an open seat as current U.S. Senator Richard Burr, a Republican, is retiring.

The statewide Republican primary was won by Ted Budd, who garnered 445,343 votes or 58.63%. Former Governor Pat McCrory polled 186,760 votes or 24.59%. Budd is from Raleigh.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Fourteen candidates competed in this primary election. Mark Walker was third in the race with 5.98% of the vote.

Dare Republicans selected Budd, casting 2,245 votes or 61.27%. Currituck Republicans cast 1,746 votes or 62.76% for Budd. Hyde County Republicans cast 332 votes or 78.3% for Budd and Tyrrell County Republicans added 217 votes or 56.36% to the Budd vote total.

In the statewide Democratic Primary, Cheri Beasley, from Raleigh, won 497,408 votes or 81.12%. The next candidate of the 11 in the race was James L. Carr Jr. with 21,668 votes or 3.53%.

In Dare, Beasley’s vote was 1,074 or 73.51%; in Currituck, the vote total was 333 or 62.83%; in Hyde, the vote was 280 or 80.92%; and in Tyrrell, Beasley won 224 votes or 68.92%.

U.S. House of Representative District 1

In redistricting, Tyrrell County is in U.S. House District 1 along with 18 other counties with a total of 270 precincts.

In the Democratic primary, Tyrrell County voted for Erica D. Smith, from Gaston, with 161 votes and 48.35%. The districtwide, the nomination went to Don Davis, from Snow Hill, with 42,498 votes or 63.18. Districtwide, second place Smith polled 20,906 or 31.08%.

In the Republican primary, Tyrrell County Republicans cast 136 votes or 36.17% for Brent Roberson, 84 votes or 22.34% for Sandy Roberson.

Districtwide, the Republican nomination went to Sandy Smith, from Rocky Mount, who drew 13,571 votes or 31.4%. Second in the race was Sandy Roberson, also from Rocky Mount, with 11,563 votes or 26.75%; third was Billy Strickland, from Wilson, with 6,020 or 13.93%; and fourth was Brent Roberson, from Williamston, with 5,967 or 13.81%.

U.S. House of Representatives District 3

Dare, Currituck and Hyde counties are all in the Third Congressional District along with 12 other counties. Total number of precincts is 224.

In the Democratic primary, all three counties voted for Barbara D. Gaskins, from Greenville, for the party’s nominee. Districtwide vote total for Gaskins was 22,023 or 80.43%. Her rival, Joe Swartz, from Swansboro, garnered 5,359 votes or 19.57%

In this race, Democrats in Dare cast 1,053 votes or 72.52% for Gaskins; in Currituck 402 votes or 77.31%; in Hyde 276 votes or 80.70%.

The Republican primary featured five candidates including incumbent Greg Murphy, who districtwide received 48,701 votes or 75.72%. His next closest competitor was Tony Cowden with 9,076 votes or 14.11 %.

Republicans in Dare cast 2,495 votes or 70.14% for Murphy, in Currituck 1,777 or 65.77%; and in Hyde 367 or 88.01%.