Primary results for judicial offices

Published 7:52 am Sunday, May 22, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

In the May 17, 2022 primary, only Republicans competed for a nomination for the statewide contests for justices on North Carolina’s Supreme Court and judges on the state’s Court of Appeals. Democratic Party nominees faced no contests for Supreme Court or Court of Appeals.

N.C. Supreme Court Associate Justice Seat 5

Statewide, Trey Allen, from Hillsborough, won the Republican nomination, pulling 852,846 votes or 55.43%. April C. Wood, from Lexington, was second with 250,674 votes or 36.29%. Third was Victoria E. Prince from Greensboro with 57,194 votes or 8.28%.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Dare Republicans cast 1,770 votes or 52.77% for Allen. Wood garnered 1,305 votes or 38.91%. In Currituck, Allen earned 1,247 votes or 48.05%; in Hyde 250 votes or 67.02%; and in Tyrrell, 199 votes or 60.49%

N.C. Court of Appeals Judge Seat 9

The Republican nominee for this seat is Donna Stroud, from Garner. Statewide, Republicans votes numbered 397,529 votes or 59.29%. Her opponent was Beth Freshwater Smith, from Wilson. She polled 272,976 votes or 40.71%.

Dare Republicans cast 1,677 votes or 52.02% for Stroud and 1,547 votes or 47.98% for Smith. In Currituck, Republicans gave Stroud 1,359 votes or 53.17% and 1,197 or 46.83% for Smith. In Hyde, the vote for Stroud was 202 votes or 55.49% and for Smith 162 votes or 44.51%. In Tyrrell, Stroud drew 187 votes or 58.07% and Smith registered 135 votes or 41.93%.

NC Court of Appeals Judge Seat 11

Two Republicans competed for this judicial seat. Statewide, Michael J. Stading, from Charlotte, won the nomination with 466,407 votes or 70.76%. His competitor, Charlton L. Allen, from Mount Mourne, pulled 192,699 votes or 29.74%.

In Dare, Stading drew 2,210 votes or 70.83%; in Currituck, Stading votes totaled 1,760 or 70.48%; in Hyde, the vote to nominate Stading totaled 283 or 70.05%; in Tyrrell, Stading received 223 votes or 69.47%.

NC District Court District 1 serves Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Pasquotank and Perquimans counties. The district attorney in Prosecutorial District 1 serves the same counties.

NC District Court Judge District 1 Seat 2

In the Republican Primary, three people contended for the judicial nomination. Winning the vote was Jeff Moreland, from Hertford, with 5,780 votes or 42.27%. In second place was Jennifer Bland, from Kill Devil Hills, with 4,949 votes or 36.2%. B.J. McAvoy, from Kill Devil Hills, pulled 2,944 votes or 21%.

In Dare, Bland won the contest with 1,742 votes or 48.23%; McAvoy came in second with 1,330 or 36.82 and Moreland pulled 540 votes or 14.95%. Currituck Republicans voted for Moreland with 1,047 votes or 38.85%; Bland garnered 1,010 votes or 37.48% and McAvoy 636 votes or 23.67%.

District Attorney Prosecutorial District 1

Two people vied for the Republican nomination for district attorney. Jeff Cruden, from Kill Devil Hills, won the nomination with 8,210 votes or 49.24%. Coming in second was Kim Pellini, from Moyock, with 5,649 votes or 40.76%.

Dare County Republicans voted for Cruden with 2,815 votes or 62.83%; Pellini drew 784 votes or 21.7 8%. Currituck Republicans voted for Pellini with 1,446 votes or 53.46%. Cruden drew 1,259 votes or 46.54% in Currituck.