Cape Hatteras Secondary School of Coastal Studies Class of 2022 academic achievements

Published 8:12 pm Saturday, June 11, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

At the May 25, 2022, Cape Hatteras Secondary senior celebration, students and families learned about special awards for academic performance.

Heading up the list are four students who earned associate in arts degrees while in secondary school and one student who met the requirements for a college certificate in business administration.

College of The Albemarle associate in arts degrees were awarded to Emily Bayne, Sydney Brown, Isabella Lettieri and Jobell Porter. Jennifer Mohnal received a certificate in general business administration from College of The Albemarle.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Making the presentation was John Hunting, Dare County liaison with College of The Albemarle.

The North Carolina Scholars designation is reserved for those graduates who complete all North Carolina university admission coursework requirements with at least a 3.5 unweighted grade point average. Wearing the gold cord for the Cape Hatteras Secondary’s commencement exercise are Emily Bayne, Jose Briones, Sydney Brown, Kirra Folb, Yoselyn Trejo Gabriel, Damon Lester, Devin Lester, Isabella Lettieri, Jennifer Mohnal, Elizabeth Muller, Clara Oden,

Kathleen Quigley and Marion Sauer.

STEM Scholar: The STEM Scholar designation is reserved for seniors who complete a combination of STEM courses above those required for graduation and finish with at least a 3.5 unweighted grade point average. Earning STEM Scholar designation are: Emily Bayne, Jose Avila-Briones, Sydney Brown, Yoselyn Trejo-Gabriel, Robert Keiser, Elizabeth Muller, Clara Oden, Jobell Porter, Kathleen Quigley and Marion Sauer.

National Honor Society: Emily Bayne, Sydney Brown, Emma Del Monte, Yoselyn Trejo-Gabriel, Isabella Lettieri, Jennifer Mohnal, Elizabeth Muller, Jobell Porter, Clara Oden and Kathleen Quigley.

National Technical Honor Society: Jose Avila-Briones, Madai Contreras-Zumarraga, Hobson Freye, Robert Keiser; Jennifer Mohnal and Damon Stump.