Search for new Dare superintendent gets underway Tuesday

Published 7:23 am Monday, July 11, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Dare County Board of Education has decided to conduct a superintendent search in house rather than hiring an outside consultant.

Board Chairman David Twiddy appointed board members Mary Ellon Ballance, Carl Woody and Susan Bothwell to a search committee.

Twiddy appointed Ballance as chairperson of the ad hoc Committee for Superintendent Search.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The committee will hold its first meeting Tuesday, July 12, 2022, at 3:30 p.m. at the Dare County Schools Administrative Office in Nags Head. The purpose of the meeting is to discuss the timeline, search process and the vacancy announcement. The meeting is open to the public. However, no public comments will be heard by the committee at this time.

Ballance said during the agenda item “search process,” the committee will discuss how it will receive public and stakeholder considerations.

In consultation with Twiddy, Ballance named committee members.

Serving on the committee are principals Rachel Benton, Cape Hatteras Elementary School, who is the system’s Principal of the Year; Tami Harper, Manteo Middle School; and Chuck Lansing, First Flight High School. Each of the trio represents one of the three geographic sections of the county and together each level of education is covered.

Serving from the central office are Assistant Superintendent Johanna Parker and the Dare system’s new human resources director Oliver Holley, who recently served as superintendent of Tyrrell County Schools.

Staffing the committee will be Holly King and Georgia Sellers.