OBAR scholarship recipients announced

Published 10:36 pm Friday, July 22, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Each year, the Outer Banks Association of REALTORS® (OBAR) awards 12 scholarships for $1,000 each to graduating seniors in Currituck and Dare counties and Ocracoke.

This year’s scholarship recipients are:

First Flight High School – Versailles A. D’Alessio, Kate A. Hamilton, Mya N. Salch, Maggie M. Sherman and Maggie T. McNinch.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Manteo High School – Ivy L. Cage, Grayson P. Lewis, Iva M. Owens and Ana Karen Alvarez-Isidoro.

Cape Hatteras Secondary School – Kathleen Quigley, Jobell Porter and Emma Del Monte.

Scholarship Committee Chair Cindy Edwards of Century 21 Nachman Realty said, “Each year we receive so many applications for our scholarship. I am so thankful for the committee members that volunteer their time to thoroughly review each and every application. It is so hard to narrow it down, let alone select only 12.

“These scholarships would not be possible without the help and support of our REALTOR® members and their generosity; we truly have a great passion for helping our young students move forward on their journey to college,” Edwards continued.

“OBAR would like to thank everyone who helped make this possible and give a special thanks to President Doug Brindley of Brindley Beach Vacation & Sales who attended each high school’s award ceremony and presented the scholarships in person,” stated an OBAR press release.

“It was a true honor to visit each ceremony and personally hand out these scholarships to 12 impressive, and ambitious graduates,” said Brindley. “I look forward to hearing how each of them continues to thrive during the next journey of their lives.”

Since 1996, OBAR has awarded 175 students a total of $265,631 in scholarships from the OBAR Scholarship Fund held with the Outer Banks Community Foundation.

To donate, visit www.obcf.org/donate-now and select “Outer Banks Association REALTORS® Scholarship Fund.”