Dare commissioners deal with roads, grants

Published 2:00 pm Monday, October 3, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Dare County commissioners voted unanimously to permanently close the paved portion of Seagull Street in Rodanthe.

Oceanfront property owners in Mirlo Beach Subdivision requested the closure to grant property owners the ability of move oceanfront houses westward toward NC 12. The moves are to mitigate damages from erosion and storm events.

On Sept. 6, 2022, the commissioners held a public hearing at which no person offered comment.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The commissioners also passed a resolution recommending that Concord Court in Arbor Way, Phase 1, in Manteo be added to NCDOT’s secondary road system. Five property owners signed the required petition.

By resolutions, the commissioners appointed Dare County Sheriff’s Captain Jack Scarborough as liaison with the Governor’s Highway Safety program and accepted a grant award of $25,000 for equipment from the Governor’s Highway Safety program.

The commissioners agreed to forward a request to the Dare County Tourism Board for $200,000 in matching funds for a federal grant for building 4.41 miles of concrete pathway along NC 12 in Frisco and Buxton. The request came from the Frisco-Buxton Pathway and Outer Banks National Scenic Byway Dare County Committees.

This first section of the proposed pathway would run along the oceanside of NC 12 from Cape Hatteras Secondary School in Buxton to Piney Ridge Road in Frisco.