The Outer Banks Hospital provides update on primary care

Published 10:26 am Sunday, November 6, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Outer Banks Hospital released an update on Oct. 28, 2022 about additional primary care providers for Dare County.

“As we’ve shared over the past five months,” states the release, “The Outer Banks Hospital and Medical Group continues to dedicate considerable resources toward increasing access to care for our community.”

The update reports that “five new providers will be joining our team over the next few months.” The result is that the new providers will “enable us to open access for new adults patients from anywhere in Dare County.”

Get the latest headlines sent to you

For those interested, call the primary care access line at 252-449-4540 and leave a message that you would like to establish care with one of the providers. TOBH stated the call will be returned within three days to confirm receipt of the message and that “your name has been added to the waitlist.”

The update states “we are diligently working through the waitlist and appreciate your patience over the next few months as we schedule appointments.”

The update provided the list of primary care providers by geographical location. The list includes current and new providers.

Roanoke Island: Dr. Cara Sumners, Dr. David Worthen, Dr. Erin Baker.

“With the arrival of Dr. Erin Baker, Outer Banks Family Medicine-Manteo is now staffed with three physicians. These providers will be able to restore the care that was disrupted earlier this year, and all former Manteo patients who do not have a PCP [Primary Care Provider] yet and want to re-establish care at this location will be able to do so.”

Hatteras Island: Dr. Bentley Crabtree, Dr. Jamie Fountain, Dr. Al Hodges.

“Access on Hatteras has not changed and remains stable.”

Nags Head – West (co-located with Urgent Care in the Outer Banks Mall complex): Dr. John Sanchez; Brooke Clarke, NP; Marina Turner, DNP (starts November).

“The addition of Marina Turner opens up access for new adult patients from anywhere in Dare County.”

Nags Head – East (opens early November and is located across the highway from the Outer Banks Mall complex): Dr. Mark Worthen; Rachel Stanford, PA (starts December); Edie Mullally, DNP (starts January); Thomas Ferguson, PA (starts January).

“The addition of these providers opens up access for new adult patients from anywhere in Dare County.”

Nags Head – Internal Medicine: Dr. Art Metcalf. No new access at this location.

Kitty Hawk: Dr. Jeff Ray; Sarah Summerton, NP; Jeanne Moore, PA; Lori Lancsek, NP (starts January); Alyssa Smith, PA (starts January).

“The new providers at this location will assume responsibility for Dr. Terryberry’s panel. This panel is currently being handled by a temporary provider. Access for new patients will be assessed once all new providers are in place.”



coastland gold