Bruce Erickson named Town of Nags Head’s Earl Murray Jr. Employee of the Year for 2022

Published 12:56 pm Thursday, December 15, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

At their December 7, 2022 board meeting, Nags Head’s commissioners named facilities maintenance technician Bruce Erickson as the town’s 2022 Earl Murray Jr. Employee of the Year.

Presented by the board each December, the award, named after Police Sergeant Earl Murray, who died in the line of duty on May 15, 2009, recognizes town employees who have excelled in performance, quality of work, willingness to cooperate with others, attitude towards the public and co-workers and attendance.

The award recipient, chosen from a list of nominations presented by town department heads, receives a plaque, a $400 reward and a paid day off. Nominees receive a $200 reward and a paid day off.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

“Bruce is passionate about his job and our town,” said Public Services director Nancy Carawan. “He’s already working while most of us are still asleep, making sure Nags Head is in excellent shape. Bruce takes ownership of everything he does here; from cleaning our public spaces to decorating our facilities for holidays. And, he does this with a smile on his face. This ownership extends past Bruce’s normal working hours as he is always taking note of something that is out of place or attempting to forecast when something may become a problem. He finds ways to quickly resolve issues before anyone takes notice. Bruce takes a lot of pride in his work and is always seeking to improve things. He exemplifies the traits of an employee of the year.”

“It’s an honor to celebrate Bruce’s accomplishments,” said Nags Head Mayor Ben Cahoon. “This award validates his exceptional work as well as his contributions, behaviors, and successes. Bruce is clearly dedicated to his job and our community, and it shows.”

Cahoon further said, “Each year this is a difficult decision for the Board because we must choose from a group of nominees who have all shown enthusiasm for their jobs and a commitment to Nags Head. It’s an honor for us to be able to recognize these employees and their achievements.”

Erickson has been with the town for four years.

The other nominees for this year’s Earl Murray Jr. Employee of the Year award were Administrative Services: tax collector Linda Bittner; Fire and Rescue: Captain Phil Wolfe; Planning and Development: building inspector III Steve Syzmanski; Police: Detective Christian Aguirre and Town Clerk: permit specialist Kim Thompson.