Dare commissioners appoint citizens to boards

Published 8:00 am Monday, February 27, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Each month, the Dare County Board of Commissioners appoints citizens to numerous commissions, committees or advisory entities.

On the county’s website, darenc.gov, under Board of Commissioners, is a list of all entities to which the commissioners appoint people. An application form is on the same site.

In February, the commissioners:

Get the latest headlines sent to you

– Reappointed Kaye White and Suzanne Kelly to the Senior Tar Heel Legislature created by the General Assembly to provide information to senior citizens on the legislative process and matters under consideration by the General Assembly. Delegates from all 100 counties attend.

– Reappointed Brandi Bohanan and Kaye White to the Aging Advisory Council for the Albemarle Commission.

– Appointed Sara Sampson to replace Nancy Griffin and Stephen Burritt to replace Jeff Mitchell to the Community Child Protection Team and the Child Fatality Prevention Team. The teams are composed of community representatives who promote a communitywide approach to the problem of child abuse and neglect and who seeks to identify and reduce preventable child fatalities. Health and Human Services made the recommendations.

– Appointed Jimmy Pierce to the Dare County ABC Board, who was recommended by the current board along with Pat Hudspeth, Don Twyne and Michael Andrews.

The board will make no appointments in March.

In April 2023, the Airport Authority has one term expiring. The Manns Harbor Marina Commission has four terms expiring.

In May 2023, the Veterans Advisory Council has two terms expiring and the Dare County Zoning Board of Adjustment has two terms expiring.