Dare commissioners agree to consent agenda items

Published 11:47 am Monday, April 3, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The agenda for each regular meeting of the Dare County Board of Commissioners contains a consent agenda, which the board usually approves unanimously. Such was the case on March 6, 2023. The first item is always the approval of minutes from the previous meeting and additional meetings if held. The other 11 items that were on the March 6, 2023 consent agenda and approved are as follows:

—The Government and Education Access Channels Committee reviewed and approved the proposed 2023-2024 budget for the operation of CURRENTtv. The proposed budget, which would take effect July 1, 2023, must be approved by every participating member entity, including the towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo, as well as Dare County, Dare County Schools, College of The Albemarle and ECU Coastal Studies Institute.

The budget as proposed requires no additional funding from the participating entities above the current annual $1,000 membership fee. The budget is primarily funded from the North Carolina Video Distribution proceeds, which are disbursed quarterly by the state to certified members.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The committee recommends continued funding of two positions and the Local Programming Development Initiative that assists members with developing programming for CURRENTtv.

The Government and Education Access Channels Committee recommended budget totals $325,626. The fund balance at June 30, 2023 is expected to be $264,309.23 after using $54,920 in the current budget year.

—Cenero Emergency Operations AV Equipment Maintenance Contract for $60,435 for three years.

—A memorandum of understanding among the Dare County Board of Education, Dare County and Outer Banks Babe Ruth Baseball regarding the fields at Kitty Hawk Elementary School.

—A resolution requesting NCDOT replacement ferries be named MV Avon and MV Salvo. The resolution includes the following: “Dare County, as the Birthplace of English-speaking America, also supports the rich Native American heritage and acknowledges the great service the Hatteras- class ferries have provided the citizens and visitors of North Carolina, and

“The Dare County Board of Commissioners is proud to uphold this rich heritage and strongly urges the Albemarle RPO and the North Carolina Ferry Division to consider naming future vessels using the Algonquian named areas of our region.”

—A petition requesting that Swan View Drive, Colington, be added to the North Carolina Department of Transportation Division of Highways Secondary Road System. The road is 0.66 of a mile long. Owners of seven properties submitted the petition to be forwarded to NCDOT.

—Cyclomedia Technology, Inc. will provide street level photographic imagery capture with LiDAR (light detection and ranging). Street Smart imagery viewer with unlimited concurrent users provided. The agreement cost is $138,064.88.

—For Dare MedFlight, an update to current subscription with SkyTrac, which adds to the current flight following capability of the helicopter and adds flight data monitoring. The cost is $205 monthly for 60 months with initial set up at $8,000.

—Motorola Solutions Service Agreement is for required and planned upgrade to the county’s radio system. The agreement is for five years and the overall cost is $2,046,367.66.

—Southern Disaster Recovery, LLC, is scheduled to conduct large item pick up beginning March 27, 2023. Under the terms and conditions of the three-year agreement, the cost is $298,650 per year.

—A budget amendment appropriated $12,780 of interest revenues earned from June 2019 to January 2023 which will revert to the Shallow Draft Navigation Fund per North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality contract. The interest revenue comes from the $15 million transferred to Dare County for the shallow draft hopper dredge.

Dare County commissioners made the following appointments on March 6:

– Virginia S. Tillett Community Center Advisory Board: as recommended by the advisory board Jonathan DeLucia to complete the term of Pam Zafra.

– A.B.C. Board: Don Twyne Jr.

The board also approved revisions to the bylaws of the Older Adult Services Advisory Council as submitted by the council’s chairperson Mary Pendill.