Phi Theta Kappa induction held at College of The Albemarle

Published 12:06 pm Thursday, June 22, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) is the international honor society of two-year colleges. It is the largest honor society in American higher education, with 2 million members in over 1200 chapters in all 50 states, U.S. territories and several foreign countries. The Nu Nu Chapter of PTK at College of The Albemarle is active and thriving, with over 200 members.

This year’s induction ceremony was held on April 27, 2023, with 19 inductees participating. Requirements are a minimum 3.5 grade point average and at least 12 accumulated semester hours in an associate degree program or six hours in a shorter or certificate program. Lifetime membership makes students eligible for transfer scholarships to over 500 colleges and universities. Members may wear a special stole at graduation, and their diplomas include the PTK seal.

The Nu Nu Chapter of PTK at College of The Albemarle was recognized as the world’s first 5-Star Phi Theta Kappa Chapter in 2022. The Five Star Chapter Development Plan is a way to incentivize and reward chapters for their efforts in fulfilling Phi Theta Kappa’s mission and contributing to their members’ personal and academic growth. By achieving higher star levels, chapters demonstrate their commitment to excellence and involvement on campus and in the community.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

An example of the society’s commitment to involvement on campus and in the community, members raised money this spring for the Sickle Cell Disease Association of America. They hosted a registration drive for Be The Match. Nine donors were added to the registry through their efforts. Be the Match is a national marrow donor program that matches donors with people – often children – who need stem cell treatment for conditions such as sickle cell anemia and some types of cancer.

The induction ceremony was led by the chapter advisor Leah Allen Jones, chapter president Ryan Searle, vice president of fellowship Denequa Mallory, vice president of service Gabrielle Spence and public relations and reporting officer Caity Washam. The guest speaker was COA enrollment advisor and success coach Shante Thomas.

2023 Phi Theta Kappa Nu Nu Chapter inductees are:

Damaris Ambrosio-Reyes, Chowan County; Kiara Antonacci, Currituck County; Megan Armstrong, Currituck County; Kelvin Brown Jr., Pasquotank County; Tiffany Carter, Pasquotank County; Zander H. Eads, Currituck County; Azlynn Eckert, Pasquotank County; Chase Forbes, Camden County; Grace Forbes, Camden County; Taneisha Kee, Pasquotank County; Denequa Mallory, Pasquotank County; Summer McCullough, Currituck County; Madison Melton, Gates County; Brianna Orosco, Currituck County

Taylor Prado, Currituck County; Joshua Twiddy, Pasquotank County; Nicollette Vasquez Lopez, Pasquotank County; Logan Waller, Pasquotank County; and Gabrielle Spence, Pasquotank County.