Early voting for second primary underway

Published 8:27 am Thursday, May 2, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Early voting for North Carolina’s 2024 statewide second primary election – which will be held on Tuesday, May 14, 2024 for the Republican candidates running for the offices of North Carolina lieutenant governor and North Carolina auditor only – began on Thursday, April 25, 2024.

Also known as a runoff election, a second primary election is held when no candidate from the primary election (which was held on Tuesday, March 5, 2024) reaches the percentage of votes required (30 percent) to be named their political party’s nominee for the General Election in November.

Early voting for North Carolina’s 2024 statewide second primary election will be held from Thursday, April 25, 2024 to Saturday, May 11, 2024 at the following three locations:

  • Dare County Administration Building (954 Marshall C. Collins Drive in Manteo)
  • Kill Devil Hills Town Hall (102 Town Hall Drive in Kill Devil Hills)
  • Fessenden Center Annex (47017 Buxton Back Road in Buxton)
Get the latest headlines sent to you

Early voting hours for all of the locations listed will be:

  • Weekdays: Monday, April 29, 2024 to Friday, May 10, 2024 from 8 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 11, 2024 from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

During early voting, voters may cast a ballot at any of the three early voting sites in Dare County.

On the day of the second primary election (Tuesday, May 14, 2024), voters must vote at their assigned polling place, and all polling places in Dare County will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. To find your assigned polling location, go to vt.ncsbe.gov/PPLkup/, where you can search by address or precinct.

The Dare County Board of Elections reminds voters within the Hatteras Precinct that the polling location on Election Day only (Tuesday, May 14, 2024)for the 2024 statewide second primary election has temporarily changed. The polling location for voters in the Hatteras Precinct will be moved from the Hatteras Civic Center (56658 N.C. Highway 12, Hatteras) to the Hatteras Community Building (57689 N.C. Highway 12, Hatteras) due to a scheduling conflict with the annual Hatteras Village Offshore Open fishing tournament. Voters will return to the Hatteras Civic Center for voting on Election Day for the General Election (Tuesday, November 5, 2024).

During the 2024 statewide second primary election, eligible voters will have the opportunity to cast their votes for the Republican candidates Jim O’Neill and Hal Weatherman, who are running for the office of North Carolina lieutenant governor, and Dave Boliek and Jack Clark, who are running for the office of North Carolina auditor.

Only registered Republicans and unaffiliated voters who voted Republican in the primary election that was held on Tuesday, March 5, 2024 are eligible to participate in the 2024 statewide second primary election on Tuesday, May 14, 2024.

Unaffiliated voters who did not vote in the Tuesday, March 5, 2024 primary election are also eligible to participate in the second primary election. In addition, voters must have lived in Dare County for at least 30 days prior to the day of the election in order to cast their vote.

All registered voters will be allowed to vote with or without a photo ID. When voting in person, you will be asked to present a valid photo ID. However, if you do not have a valid photo ID you may still vote by completing an ID exception form and then vote with a provisional ballot, or vote with a provisional ballot and then return to the county board office with your ID by the day before county canvass. For more information, including a current list of photo IDs that will be accepted, go to BringItNC.com.

For more information, contact the Dare County Board of Elections Office at Elections@DareNC.gov or 252-475-5630 or go to darenc.gov/departments/elections/election-information.