Outcasters win CHAC Invitational Surf Fishing Tournament

An all-women’s team claimed the top spot at the 61st annual Cape Hatteras Anglers Club Invitational Surf Fishing Tournament.

The team, Outcasters, came up to accept the award to a rousing ovation from tournament anglers gathered at the Buxton clubhouse.

Jean Flanagan captains the winning team based on the Outer Banks. Team members are Sharon Newbold, Stephanie Bayne, Ginger Knight, Angie Gaskins and Audrey Whitlock, who also won the largest bluefish category with a 19.5-inch bluefish.

This is the third year that a local team has won the prestigious tournament, the world’s largest surf fishing contest. The Outcasters team caught 47 fish and racked up 218 points to claim first place and the club’s Lighthouse Trophy for a year.

Outcasters moved into the lead from Thursday’s first session when the team caught 35 fish and scored 174 points to best all teams.

It been 27 years since the last tournament win by a women’s team. The Sand Bunnies captured first in 1991.

Finishing second was another local team, The “F” Team, captained by L.T. Eure. Members are Larry Lewis, Richard Banks, Bill Ernst, Cody Wallace and Bob Swindles. The team caught 54 fish and amassed 109 points. The “F” Team won first a decade ago, in 2008.

surf fishing

The “F” Team from Kitty Hawk captured second place in the 61st annual Cape Hatteras Anglers Club Tournament. Team members are, seated from left, Cody Wallace, Bob Swindles, Bill Ernst and, standing from left, Richard Banks, Larry Lewis and team captain L.T. Eure. Mary Helen Goodloe-Murphy photo

The Eastern Shore Landcasters from Delmar, Del., claimed third place with 10 fish and 101 points. Captain Garry Morris also caught the largest red drum by a male, at 46.25 incher. His name will be added to the Edgar O. Hooper Memorial Plaque which honors the angler who caught the largest fish. Eastern Shore Landcasters team members are Aaron Morris, Manson Jones, Cliff Parsons, Chuck Bare and Darrell Malone. This is the first time the team has reached the trophy stand.

Additional awards were presented to:

Denise Luberecki with the Island Girls team, largest drum caught by a female, a 38.25-inch red drum.

Jim Morris, with the Fishin’ Fools, largest blue fish caught by a male, 18.5-inch bluefish

Robbie Barnes with the P.O.E.T.S. team for the largest fish other than a drum or bluefish caught by a male, 18-inch flounder.

Paula Masters with Sandbar Anglers, largest fish other than a drum or bluefish caught by a female, a 15.75-inch flounder.

The winning teams claimed session wins with The “F” team the winners of the second session on Thursday and the Eastern Shore Landcasters winners of Friday’s third session. Island Girls, another local team, claimed the top score for the fourth session.

For the 2018 tournament, 1,152 fish were caught and 2,813 points scored.

The 120 teams invited to the surf fishing tournament fished from Cape Hatteras National Seashore beaches Thursday and Friday, Nov. 8 and 9. On Saturday, the club held the Bob Bernard Open Individual Tournament.

Tournament director this year was Kay T. Knowles.