Manteo wrestling opens season with loss

Published 5:04 pm Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Although Manteo wrestlers opened the season December 4 with three team losses, the Redskins scored with eight wins during triangular meet with Currituck County, John A. Holmes and Pasquotank County.

Making weight for Manteo are: Caleb Maher (113), Peter Carolaparra (145), William Pendelton (160), Ryan McOwen (182), Caden Clark (195) and Caleb Carter (220).

With only six wrestlers taking the mat, the Redskins can expect an uphill battle all season.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Individual results from the three December 4 meets include:

Manteo vs. Currituck County
Currituck County 63.0 Manteo 6.0
113: Samuel Hodge (CCHS) over Caleb Maher (MHS) (Fall 1:24)
120: Hunter Forehand (CCHS) over (MHS) (Fall 0:00)
126: Noah Walker (CCHS) win by forfeit
132: Tyler Sunderlin (CCHS) win by forfeit
138: Willie Toliver (CCHS) win by forfeit
145: Michael Culpepper (CCHS) over Peter Carolaparra (MHS) (Fall 3:59)
152: Cole Hampton (CCHS) win by forfeit
160: Trent Walker (CCHS) over William Pendelton (MHS) (Dec 7-1)
170: Mark Dutton (CCHS) win by forfeit
182: Ryan McOwen (MHS) win by forfeit
195: Shawn Maynard (CCHS) over Caden Clark (MHS) (Fall 1:07)
220: Chase Elliott (CCHS) over Caleb Carter (MHS) (Fall 0:59)
285: Double Forfeit

Manteo vs. Holmes
Holmes 54.0 Manteo 15.0
106: Double Forfeit
113: Riddick White (HOLM) over Caleb Maher (MHS) (Fall 1:39)
120: Aaron Jones (HOLM) win by forfeit
126: Chase Ward (HOLM) win by forfeit
132: Alex Bergevin (HOLM) win by forfeit
138: Jorden Huerta (HOLM) win by forfeit
145: Nathan Hansley (HOLM) over Peter Carolaparra (MHS) (Fall 1:29)
152: Trace Murray (HOLM) win by forfeit
160: William Pendelton (MHS) over Dezmontre Gilliam (HOLM) (Dec 8-6)
170: Javarion White (HOLM) win by forfeit
182: Ryan McOwen (MHS) win by forfeit
195: Dawson Cullipher (HOLM) over Caden Clark (MHS) (Fall 1:29)
220: Caleb Carter (MHS) win by forfeit
285: Double Forfeit

Manteo vs. Pasquotank County
Pasquotank County 33.0 Manteo 21.0
Manteo vs. Pasquotank County
106: Double Forfeit
113: Caleb Maher (MHS) over Travis Douglas (PACO) (Fall 0:00)
120: Scott Kresicki (PACO) win by forfeit
126: Isac Riddle (PACO) win by forfeit
132: Double Forfeit
138: Double Forfeit
145: Carlos Cardenas (PACO) over Peter Carolaparra (MHS) (Fall 0:00)
152: Double Forfeit
160: Thong Tran (PACO) over William Pendelton (MHS) (Dec 9-5)
170: Cody Douglas (PACO) win by forfeit
182: Ryan McOwen (MHS) over Kobe Keller (PACO) (Dec 7-6)
195: Caden Clark (MHS) win by forfeit
220: Caleb Carter (MHS) win by forfeit
285: Devin Alcorn (PACO)  win by forfeit