Currituck-Dare Community Foundation announces new Pirate’s Cove Billfish Tournament fund

Published 9:40 pm Tuesday, January 29, 2019

The Currituck-Dare Community Foundation has announced the establishment of a new fund, according to Loismary Hoehne, CDCF board president.

The Pirate’s Cove Billfish Tournament board of directors has established the Pirate’s Cove Billfish Tournament Charitable Fund, which supports general charitable purposes in Dare County.

“The Pirate’s Cove Billfish Tournament has been a part of the Outer Banks fishing community for over 35 years,” said PCBT director Heather Maxwell. “The board of directors, participants and volunteers could not think of a better way to give back than to generate these grants from our new charitable fund. We are so blessed to be part of making a difference in our community.”

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The CDCF is excited to add the Pirate’s Cove Billfish Tournament Charitable Fund to the local family of funds, according to Hoehne.

Pirate’s Cove Billfish Tournament, Inc. is a non-profit organization that manages two of the most competitive sportfishing events on the East Coast. Established in 1983, the annual Pirate’s Cove Billfish Tournament has held host to the finest teams in the world and offers some of the most fast paced marlin fishing on the circuit. The tournament boasts blue marlin over 1,000 pounds and a purse that has reached as high as $1.3 million. The Annual Alice Kelly Memorial Ladies Only Billfish Tournament is the primary fundraiser for the ICO Cancer Program and has helped countless families in Dare County deal with cancer crisis. Together the two events encompass the second week in August, fondly referred to as “Tournament Week.”

Contact Maxwell at 252-305-3610 for more information or visit

The Currituck-Dare Community Foundation was founded in 1999 and is an affiliate of the North Carolina Community Foundation. CDCF is led by a local volunteer advisory board that helps build community assets through the creation of permanent endowments, makes grants and leverages leadership – all for the benefit of Currituck and Dare counties. The board members include:  Loismary Hoehne (president), Jane Oden (vice president), Linda Algood (treasurer), Margaret Di Small (secretary), Janet Colegrove, Nina Foster, Scott Foster, Cynthia Jarvis, Daniel La Rue, Vickie Smith Moore, Hannah Robinson and Ginger Webster.

Tax-deductible contributions, made payable to the Currituck-Dare Community Foundation, can be mailed to the North Carolina Community Foundation, 3737 Glenwood Ave. Suite 460, Raleigh, NC 27612. Contributions can also be made online at

For further information, contact NCCF regional director Natalie Jenkins Peel at 252-562-9824 or or visit the NCCF website at.


Kill Devil Hills fills vacant board seat

Column: Help NC’s rural communities by visiting them

Jennette’s Pier receives WeddingWire Couples’ Choice Award