ESBY Award winners announced

Published 8:19 am Saturday, March 9, 2019

The Outer Banks Chamber of Commerce, together with corporate Sponsor Carolina Designs Realty, announced the winners of the 2019 Entrepreneur and Small Business of the Year Awards (ESBYs) on February 21 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Kitty Hawk. The annual awards recognize businesses for achievements and community involvement.

Named Small Business of the Year (10 employees or less) was OBX Frozen Yogurt. Established in 2014, the business was relocated in 2017 by its new owner Jeff Schwartzenberg. They focus on providing superior service, offering a diverse mix of products and creating a culture of customer engagement and community support.

The Small Business of the Year (11-50 employees) was won by Pigman’s Bar-B-Que. Established in 1985, Pigman’s Bar-B-Que takes pride in following time-honored North Carolina traditions, while getting a little creative with ingredients.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

“The ESBY applications were reviewed and judged by a panel of judges from around the country,” said Pat Broom, Chamber Board chair, before presenting the awards. “Chamber executives from other states, business consultants with our some of our local partners including the Small Business Center and Outer Banks SCORE were included as judges for this year’s awards. It is quite an honor for these businesses to receive such recognition.”

The Outer Banks Chamber serves Dare County, Currituck County and Ocracoke Island. There are currently close to 1000 members.



Local heating and cooling company joins national brand

North Carolina court: State retirees should pay health premiums