Early voting scheduled for Republican runoff

Published 11:08 pm Tuesday, May 14, 2019

In Dare County, early voting will begin on June 19 for the Republican runoff to choose a candidate for the North Carolina’s 3rd Congressional District U.S. House seat. The runoff between Republican Greg Murphy and Joan Perry, the top two vote getters, was forced after neither received 30 percent of the vote in a crowded 17 candidate field in the April special primary.

Primary election day for the Republican runoff is July 9. In Dare County, the local election board decided early voting will be held between June 19 and July 5. Voters can cast early votes on weekdays, with the exception of July 4, between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. in three locations: Dare County Administration Building in Manteo, Thomas A. Baum Senior Center in Kill Devil Hills, Fessenden Center Annex in Buxton.

The winner of the Republican primary will face challengers including Democrat Allen Thomas and Libertarian Tim Harris in the Special North Carolina 3rd Congressional District U.S. House election on September 10. The winner will fill the seat left vacant when Representative Walter B. Jones Jr. died in February. The North Carolina 3rd Congressional District includes all or parts of Currituck, Camden, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Chowan, Tyrrell, Dare, Hyde, Beaufort, Pamlico, Carteret, Pitt, Craven, Onslow, Jones, Lenoir and Greene counties.

Get the latest headlines sent to you



Tyrrell audit reflects deficit spending past two years

Chasing a memory