Dare Guarantee Scholarship memo signed and funded

Published 11:53 pm Tuesday, September 24, 2019

Dare County and College of The Albemarle Foundation officials formally signed a Memorandum of Understanding creating the Dare Guarantee Scholarship Program.

Signing the memorandum were Dare County Board of Commissioners Chairman Robert L. Woodard and county manager Robert L. Outten. Signing for the college’s foundation were Douglas Gardner, president of the foundation, and Amy Alcocer, the foundation’s executive director.

Attending the signing were Marion Harris Jr., chair of the college’s Board of Trustees; Arty Tillett, vice chair of the Board of Trustees; Dr. Travis Twiford, interim president of the college; and Timothy Sweeney, dean of the Dare Campus of College of The Albemarle.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The Dare Guarantee Scholarship was blessed by the entire Board of Commissioners and funded at $250,000. It is anticipated that funding will continue at that level annually.

“This is all about educating our kids,” said Woodard, who thanked the Dare commissioners individually and the county’s College of The Albemarle Task Force.

“There is no better place to start your college education than at a community college,” said Woodard.

Under articulation agreements, course credits transfer to North Carolina universities.

Additionally, Dare Schools now has a dual enrollment program. Three Dare students graduated in June with dual degrees, a high school diploma and an associate’s degree from College of The Albemarle. That program saved families thousands of dollars.

Dare Guarantee Scholarships will be available starting in January.

Gardner said, “Bob Woodard and Dare County Board of Commissioners have set a high bar for the other counties in COS’s service area by offering this generous scholarship. This is the essence of what government does best for its citizens: affording them an opportunity to improve themselves through education.”

Students eligible for the Guarantee Scholarship must be Dare County residents and have graduated from a public school, private school or home school located in Dare County. Students must enroll and begin attendance at College of The Albemarle within 16 months of graduation.

First priority for funds will be given to students enrolled full-time (12 hours or more) at the Dare County Campus of College of The Albemarle in Curriculum or Workforce Development programs. Second priority for funds will be given to students enrolled in Curriculum or a Workforce Development program at any other College of The Albemarle campus.

Guarantee applicants are required to submit applications for college foundation scholarships and federal financial aid, which usually comes in a package with grants and loans. Scholarships and federal grants will be applied first to the college bill. After those funds are applied, the Dare Guarantee kicks in to cover unmet tuition and fees. Applicants are not required to accept federal loans to access the Dare Guarantee.

Dare high school students who have earned college credits through College of The Albemarle will be eligible for the Dare Guarantee program.

The college’s foundation will administer the scholarship program.

More information is available at darenc.com/COA or Albemarle.edu/scholarships.



Driver charged in fatal Kitty Hawk crash

Dare County Schools to revise graduation requirements