Candidate list for Dare at close of filing period

Published 3:59 am Sunday, December 29, 2019

The filing period for candidates seeking election in 2020 has closed.

At noon on Dec. 20, almost all elections for Dare County Board of Commissioners and Board of Education will be contested.

In Dare County, the following filed candidacy papers for the indicated offices:

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Board of Commissioners District 1, representing Dare’s mainland and Roanoke Island, incumbent Republican Wally Overman is unopposed in the primary and General Election.

Board of Commissioners District 2, representing Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head and Colington, incumbent Republican Robert L. “Bob” Woodard is challenged in the General Election by Democrat Amanda Hooper from Kill Devil Hills.

Board of Commissioners District 3, representing Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, incumbent Republican Steve House has a Republican challenger, Paul Wright, Kitty Hawk. The winner is opposed in the General Election by Democrat Kathy McCullough-Testa.

Board of Commissioners District 5, representing Hatteras Island, incumbent Democrat Danny Couch filed for re-election. Independent Alana Harrison from Hatteras is collecting petition signatures to oppose Couch in the General Election.

Board of Education at large, incumbent Republican David Twiddy from Manteo is opposed by Democrat Charles Parker, Kill Devil Hills.

Board of Education District 1, incumbent Democrat Bea Basnight from Manteo is opposed by Republican Carl Woody II, Manteo.

Board of Education District 2, candidate Democrat Jen Alexander and Republican Susan Bothwell from Nags Head are vying for the seat vacated by Ben Sproul, an Independent.

Board of Education District 4, incumbent Republican Mary Ellon Balance is unopposed.

For District Court Judge in District 1, incumbent Amber Davis Malarney from Wanchese has filed for the Democratic Party nomination for Seat 5. She is unopposed for re-election.

For District Court Judge incumbent Edgar L. Barnes, Manteo, has filed for the Republican nomination in Judicial District 1, Seat 4. The judicial district includes seven counties: Gates, Chowan, Perquimans, Pasquotank, Camden, Currituck and Dare. He is unopposed for re-election.

For the North Carolina Senate District 1 seat, incumbent Republican Bob Steinburg will be opposed by Democrat Tess Judge in the General Election.

For the North Carolina House Seat for District 6, incumbent Republican Bobby Hanig, Powells Point, is opposed in the Republican primary by Rob Rollason, Kill Devil Hills. The winner will be opposed by Democrat Tommy Fulcher from Southern Shores in the General Election.



Bomb threat forces evacuation at popular Manteo restaurant

Court battle over red wolves reignites as governor urges action