Manteo and First Flight swimmers win their respective conference finals

Published 2:42 pm Monday, January 27, 2020

Manteo and First Flight High School had big weekends for swimming. Both placed first in their respective conference meets.

Manteo won the Albemarle Athletic Conference championship on Sat., Jan. 18 for the second year in a row. Collectively, MHS out-scored Camden, Edenton and Perquimans by 183 points.

Sophie Benkusy of MHS won Swimmer of the Year. Sophie along with Gwyn Benkusky, Libby Robertson, Eva Klauser and Meris Duprey were named all-conference swimmers for the girls swim team. Will Garman, Max Janesik, Trey Pearce, Noah Goetsch and Reid Gilreath joined the all-conference team for the MHS boys team.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

First Flight won the title of Northeastern Coastal Conference champions for the third year in a row on Friday, Jan. 17. They competed against Currituck, Pasquotank and Northeastern. A collective 210 points put them in the top spot.

FFHS’s Bri Wilson was named Conference Swimmer of the Year and Head Coach Dave Tonnesen won the title of Conference Women’s Team Coach of the Year.

Swimmers who qualify will compete in the North Carolina 1A/2A Eastern Regionals in Cary on Feb. 1. State Championships will be on Feb. 6 in Cary.



Tideland Conference middle school tournament starts this week