UPDATED: Weather-related school delays and closures noted

Published 6:41 am Friday, February 7, 2020

Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell and Elizabeth City-Pasquotank schools have announced weather-related schedule changes for Friday, February 7.

Dare County Schools, after first announcing that Cape Hatteras Elementary School and Cape Hatteras Secondary School would operate on a two hour delay Friday for all staff and students and all other Dare schools would remain on a regular schedule, later announced that all schools would be released early on a staggered schedule. DCS stated around 10:30 a.m. that all student drivers would be released immediately.

For Hyde County Schools, the Mattamuskeet School Campus will be closed for students Friday. The Beaufort County Community College bus will not run, so community college students are advised to notify their professors if they do not feel it is safe to travel. Friday will be a teacher workday for Mattamuskeet staff, who should report to school at 9 a.m. Ocracoke School will be on a one hour delay, with lower elementary beginning at 8:45 a.m., upper beginning at 8:55 and NCCAT beginning at 9:05.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Tyrrell County Schools will be closed for students and will be an optional workday for staff with a two-hour delay.

Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools will be closed for students and staff Friday due to continued flooding throughout the community.

Currituck schools are operating on a normal schedule.



Final Papa’s Girl crewmember recovered near Ocracoke

School safety forum addresses lockdown, bullying and tolerance