Governor Cooper signs statewide stay at home order

Published 10:49 pm Friday, March 27, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper ordered people in the state of North Carolina to stay at home for thirty days, until April 29, 2020.

The order is another statewide move to slow the spread of the coronavirus.

Cooper’s Executive Order No. 121 takes effect Monday, March 30 at 5 p.m.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The Order provides for essential businesses to continue to operate. Cooper stressed social distancing measures in his remarks. The Order has the force of law statewide.

Dare’s Control Group noticed a similar order at 1 p.m. in Bulletin No. 18. The formal declaration was issued around 2 p.m.

Under the Governor’s Executive Order 121, the stricter provision is to be followed.

Dare’s stay at home order takes effect Saturday, March 28, 2020 at 5 p.m.

The governor’s order takes effect later.

The stricter clause, in this case, is Dare’s with an earlier start date. So, the county’s stay at home order is operational at 5 p.m., Saturday, March 28.

In a quick review, Dare County attorney Robert L. Outten noted several differences between the two orders. Outten will discuss the differences with the Dare County Control Group on Monday.

At his press conference, the governor noted that three North Carolinians have died due to COVID-19. The state has 763 confirmed cases of the virus in 60 counties.

Referring to his stay at home order, the governor said “it’s what we have to do to save lives.”

Executive Order No. 121 can be found HERE.



‘Stay Home – Stay Healthy’ declaration goes into effect Saturday for Dare County

Major disaster declared in North Carolina