Dare’s ‘Stay Home – Stay Healthy’ declaration now aligns with Cooper’s order

Published 1:41 pm Saturday, March 28, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

In North Carolina, there are currently 934 cases of COVID-19 in 63 counties. There have been four fatalities in NC associated with COVID-19 and there is evidence of community wide spread in 31 of North Carolina’s 100 counties, according to the latest bulletin from Dare County. In the other 32 counties with positive cases, the cases are linked to travel or direct contact. Currently, the state is reporting 87 hospitalizations across the state from COVID-19 illness.

Dare County has had one positive COVID-19 test result, which was reported on Wednesday, March 25. The Dare County Department of Health and Human Services will continue to report any positive cases as soon as possible. To access official sources for this information, check the Dare County Department of Health and Human Services or the NC Department of Health and Human Services.

Restrictions on entry for visitors and non-resident property owners remain in place. For updated information, visit www.darenc.com/entry.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

On Friday, March 27 the Dare County Control Group implemented a “Stay Home – Stay Healthy” declaration to become effective Saturday, March 28 at 5 p.m. Following that announcement, Governor Cooper announced Executive Order 121, a similar directive with strategic directions for the entire state in response to increasing COVID-19 cases.

In order to provide consistency and eliminate confusion, Dare County has updated the  Stay Home – Stay Healthy declaration to align with the Governor’s order and the guidelines that are being put in place statewide. While the statewide order goes into effect Monday, March 30 at 5 p.m., the Dare County “Stay Home – Stay Healthy” order –  which now aligns with the state’s order – will become effective today, Saturday, March 28 at 5 p.m., as previously announced.

To view the frequently asked questions regarding North Carolina’s Stay at Home Orderclick here. To reach the state’s COVID-19 information line, call 888-892-1162 or receive updates by texting COVIDNC to 898211.

Essential businesses as defined in the state order may remain open. Other non-essential businesses must remain closed unless permitted by the Secretary of Revenue. Establishments required to close under previous executive orders must remain closed.

Those whose business type is not included in the state’s list of Essential Businesses and Operations and who believe it is essential may submit an application to the North Carolina Department of Revenue (NCDOR). NCDOR will review applications to determine whether the business is necessary to properly respond to this COVID-19 pandemic. NCDOR will post on its website a point of contact and procedures for businesses seeking an essential designation.

Dare County

The Dare County COVID-19 Call Center is open daily from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. and can be reached at 252-475-5008. Staff members are available to help address your questions.

For updated information regarding Dare County services and department operations, visit www.darenc.com/covidservices. A list of community resources is available for those impacted by COVID-19 at darenc.com/covidresources.

Town of Duck
The April 1 Town Council meeting will be live streamed. Instructions for public comment and viewing will be provided at www.townofduck.com/town-council prior to the meeting.

The April 8 Planning Board meeting has been canceled.

Town of Southern Shores
Town facilities remain closed to the public and all Town Hall business is being conducted via phone, email, fax or other virtual means. In the event of an emergency, call 911.

The next Town Council meeting is scheduled for April 7, which may be subject to change. Town officials are currently evaluating services that would allow electronic viewing and participation.

Building inspections are still being conducted, however, meetings in person with the building inspector on-site are limited. Inspection requests should be directed to the Planning & Code Enforcement Department by calling 252-261-2394 ext. 3 or by emailing Dabni Shelton, permit officer at dshelton@southernshores-nc.gov.

The bulk waste collection originally scheduled for the Town of Southern Shores on Friday, April 3 has been postponed. A new bulk collection schedule will be announced at a later date.

Town of Kitty Hawk
All Town of Kitty Hawk offices are open normal business hours (8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.). However, in the interest of safety, face-to-face contact will be limited.

Before visiting any Kitty Hawk office, check the town’s website https://www.kittyhawknc.gov/coronavirus-disease/  or call 252-261-3552 to discuss the best way to conduct business.

On Saturday, March 28 at noon, the town’s Recycle Center closed until further notice.

The playgrounds at Paul Pruitt Park and Sandy Run Park are closed. The parks will remain open for passive recreational activities. When visiting any of the town’s parks, practice social distancing.

The spring chipping service will not be held in April and has been postponed until the fall.

Town of Kill Devil Hills
Kill Devil Hills town offices are accessible by appointment only. Regular business hours are M-F, 8-5 p.m. For updates and additional information, visit website www.kdhnc.com and  www.facebook.com/townofkdh.

Town of Nags Head
The Town of Nags Head will remain open, but continues to ask that business with the town be conducted either online or via the phone. Visit nagsheadnc.gov/coronavirus for more information on doing business with the town at this time. Those without computer access should call 252-441-5508 from 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Trade permits can now be applied for and issued online. In many cases, town staffers are able to make arrangements for other types of permits over the phone or through email to coordinate the submittal of applications and materials, issue permits and take payments.

The town is waiving online payment service fees temporarily.

Town of Manteo
The April 1 Board of Commissioners meeting will be held at 6:30 p.m. via telephone. The public may access the meeting by calling 301-715-8592, 669-900-6833, 346-248-7799 or 929-436-2866 and then entering the Meeting ID of 296-841-306. Public comment will be available.

Sanitation, water and sewer, permits and inspections and law enforcement continue to deliver services. Access to Town Hall is limited. Call 252-473-2133 first to see if your item can be handled over the phone, online or via other means. Utility service disconnections are suspended during this emergency. Utility fees will still be charged.

Town parks remain open and park visitors must avoid crowd-gathering and use social distancing. Playgrounds, public restrooms and the Maritime Museum are closed. Downtown Marina is closed to visitors.

The May 2 litter pick-up has been postponed to November 14. The Downtown Market is postponed until further notice.

National Park Service
To minimize potential spread of COVID-19, consistent with federal, state and local advisories, visitor centers at Cape Hatteras National Seashore (Seashore), Fort Raleigh National Historic Site and Wright Brothers National Memorial are temporarily closed.

Park lands continue to be open for the purposes of activities described under Dare County’s “Stay Home – Stay Healthy” declaration. Visit http://go.nps.gov/beachaccess for the current status of seashore beaches. Off-road vehicle permits can be purchased at www.recreation.gov. Seashore campgrounds are closed.



Governor Cooper signs statewide stay at home order

Outer Banks Community Foundation awards $56,050 in COVID-19 Rapid Response Grants to eight nonprofits