Currituck County establishes Corolla entry checkpoint

Published 6:00 pm Friday, April 24, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Currituck County Sheriff’s Office has established an entry checkpoint into Corolla,  located at the county line between Duck and Corolla on NC 12. The checkpoint will be in operation on a 24/7 schedule, according to a Currituck County press release.

This does not replace any other checkpoint already established at the Dare County line, such as the one in place at the Wright Memorial Bridge. All current checkpoints will remain in operation.

The Currituck Sheriff’s checkpoint between Duck and Corolla is intended to provide an added layer of accountability to ensure that vehicles entering Corolla have the appropriate permissions, states the release.


Danielle Puleo photo

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Vehicles will be allowed into Corolla with one of following permissions:

– Currituck County non-resident property owner entry permit

– Driver’s license with a Currituck County permanent address

– Driver’s license with a Dare County permanent address

– Business entry permit used by local employees

– Dare County non-resident property owner entry permit (after Dare County begins allowing access to non-resident property owners).

In addition, the Currituck County Sheriff’s Office will continue regular boat patrols of the Currituck Sound to ensure that boaters wishing to visit Corolla also have the appropriate permissions.

“All citizens are advised to follow NC Gov. Roy Cooper’s Stay at Home order while in Corolla and only travel locally in the Outer Banks if necessary,” stated the Currituck release. “Citizens who leave Corolla for any reason must have one of these permissions to be allowed re-entry.”



Dog parks remain open with social distancing regulations

North Carolina schools closed for remainder of year