Many NCDMV fees increase July 1
Published 3:31 pm Wednesday, July 1, 2020
A number of North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles fees have increased effective Wednesday, July 1.
As mandated by state law, the DMV is required to adjust fees and rates every four years based on the percentage change in the annual Consumer Price Index during the past four years. The increase will be 7.86 percent for about 90 license and registration-related fees, according to NCDMV.
Examples of the changes includes an increase of 50 cents per year for a regular driver license. The fee was $5 for each year of the license, which is issued for five or eight years. A five-year license went up $2.50 and an eight-year license went up by $4. The issuance of a learner’s permit and a provisional license increased by $1.50 overall and the cost of a duplicate license increased by $1.
Fees also went up slightly for commercial driver licenses, copies of driving records and several other license related processes.
For regular private passenger vehicle registrations, the annual fee went from $36 to $38.75. Registrations for commercial vehicles, motorcycles, for hire vehicles, house trailers, low-speed vehicle and electric vehicle fees among others that increased.
The complete list of fee changes can be found here.
READ ABOUT MORE NEWS AND EVENTS HERE.
COVID-19 diagnostic and antibody testing event set for Hatteras Island
State audit: North Carolina Virtual Public School courses need work