Dare commissioners make board appointments

Published 9:07 am Friday, September 4, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Dare County Board of Commissioners met in two sessions this summer, July 20 and Aug. 17. The scheduled meeting for Aug. 3 was canceled due to Isaias.

At both meetings, commissioners made appointments to various boards.

On Aug. 20, the commissioners reappointed the following members to the Dare County Center Advisory Board: Rob Ross, Emily Hall, Mitchell Bateman and Samantha Brown. Pamela Zafra was appointed to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of John D. Sibunka.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

For the Dare County Health and Human Services Board, the commissioners reappointed Dr. Mark Grossman, Wally Overman and Alexis Hodges. Due to other commitments, Frank Hester declined reappointment.

On July 20, the commissioners reappointed the following persons to the indicated boards:

East Lake Community Center Board: Ted Hemilright for a three-year term.

A.B.C. Board: Fields Scarborough, Sr. for a three-year term.

Wanchese Community Center Board: Joyce T. Meekins and Robert L. Walton, for two-year terms.

For the Older Adult Services Advisory Board, Barbara Franchi was appointed to fill a vacancy. Her term is four years.

To be considered for appointment to a board or committee, interested persons must submit an application. The form is available on the county’s website, darenc.com, under the Board of Commissioners button, or by calling Cheryl C. Anby, clerk to the board, at 252-475-5800.



Kris and Ava: Journey ends on a sad note for bicyclist and canine companion

Vegetable Train: A fun kitchen activity for children