Unofficial election results for North Carolina statewide races are in

Published 4:14 pm Wednesday, November 4, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

After months of campaigning, presidential election results are not final as of Wednesday afternoon. Vote totals on the North Carolina State Board of Elections were last updated at 11:40 a.m., Nov. 4, the day after the national election.

As it stands in North Carolina on Wednesday afternoon, incumbent President Donald J. Trump garnered 2,732,084 votes or 49.98% and Joseph R. Biden earned 2,655,383 votes or 48.57%. Four also-rans drew 79,361 votes. Candidates were Jo Jorgensen, Libertarian, 47,315; Howie Hawkins, Green, 11,825, Don Blankenship, Constitution, 7,381. Write-ins polled 12,940.

The state has yet to be called for Trump or Biden. Trump leads by 76,701 votes.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

Mail-in ballots postmarked by Election Day and received by Nov. 12 can still be counted.

In the U.S. Senate race, Republican Thom Tillis retains his seat, garnering 2,640,379 votes or 48.73%. His rival, Cal Cunningham, Democrat, drew 2,543,673 or 46.94%. Libertarian Shannon W. Bray captured 3.1% or 167,968 votes. Kevin E. Hayes with the Constitution Party early 66,668 votes or 1.23%.

Republican Greg Murphy, returns to Congress to represent North Carolina District 3, which includes Beaufort, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Greene, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt and Tyrrell. Collectively¸ the counties contain 228 precincts, all of which have reported vote totals. Murphy received 227,462 votes or 63.45% while Democrat Daryl Farrow earned 131,011 votes or 36.55%.

North Carolina’s Congressional Delegation with its 13 seats will be split between eight Republicans and five Democrats. Democrats picked up an open seat in District 2 with Deborah Ross and in District 6 with Kathy Manning. Democrats G.K. Butterfield, David E. Price and Alma Adams retained their seats. Republicans earned one open seat, District 11 where Madison Cawthorn with 54.52% of the vote defeated three other candidates. Republicans returning to Congress are Murphy, Virginia Foxx, David Rouzer, Richard Hudson, Dan Bishop, Patrick McHenry and Ted Budd.

Roy Cooper will serve another term as governor of North Carolina. Cooper, a Democrat, earned 2,803,782 or 51.48% of the votes. His Republican opponent Dan Forest, the current lt. governor, drew 2,563,258 votes or 47.06% of the votes. Two more candidates ran for the governorship: Steven J. DiFiore, a Libertarian, with 58,818 votes and Al Pisano, for the Constitution Party, 20,371 votes.

Republican Mark Robinson will serve the state as lt. governor. Robinson, with 2,773,751 votes or 51.66%, defeated Yvonne Lewis Holley who had 2,595,868 votes.

Josh Stein may return as North Carolina attorney general. Stein polled 2,684,854 votes or 50.1%, defeating Republican Jim O’Neill, Forsythe County district attorney, who drew 2,674,085 or 49.9%. The difference is 10,769 votes.

O’Neill may have the right to demand a recount. For statewide contests, the vote difference must be 10,000 votes or fewer for the runner-up to demand a recount. The currently reported difference is unofficial as all ballots have not been counted.

Incumbent State Auditor Beth Wood, a Democrat, polled 2,701,357 votes or 50.85% to her opponent Tony Street’s 2,611,323. The vote difference is 90,034.

Republican Steve Troxler retains his position as commissioner of agriculture with 2,874,607 vote or 53.89% over Jenna Wadsworth with 2,459,302.

The current state insurance commissioner, Republican Mike Causey, continues in that position with 2,749,145 or 51.78% of the votes. Democrat Wayne Goodwin polled 2,559,696.

A new commissioner of labor, Republican Josh Dobson, defeated Democrat Jessica Holmes by 91,834 votes. Dobson garnered 2,701,336 votes or 50.86% of the votes.

Democrat Elaine Marshall remains Secretary of State, defeating E.C. Sykes. Marshall grabbed 2,726,837 votes or 51.14%.

The position of superintendent of public instruction goes to Catherine Truitt, Republican, who attracted 2,726,948 vote or 51.40%. Truitt defeated Jen Mangrum.

Republican Dale R. Folwell retains the title of North Carolina treasurer with 2,786,254 votes representing 52.60%. He defeated Ronnie Chatterji.

On the Council of State, Republicans number six including the positions of lt. governor, commissioners of agriculture, insurance and labor, North Carolina treasurer and superintendent of public instruction. Democrats are the governor, auditor, secretary of state and attorney general.

All votes are unofficial. Absentee ballots with a Nov. 3 postmark must be received by 5 p.m. on Nov. 12. County Boards of Election are required to meet at 11 a.m. on Friday, Nov. 13, 2020 to canvass the vote.



VIDEO: Coast Guard rescues two boaters from sailing vessel east of Cape Hatteras

The Lost Colony introduces new director/choreographer