Outer Banks fireworks regulations, town by town

Published 9:10 am Wednesday, June 30, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

All Outer Banks towns follow North Carolina’s regulations for “safe and sane” fireworks; some areas are even more strict.

Safe and sane fireworks include caps, snakes and glow worms, smoke devices, trick noise makers, sparklers and other sparkling devices like fountains. It is illegal to buy, sell, possess or discharge any firework that leaves the ground, detonates or explodes or has a report or a “bang.” These types of fireworks are allowed on the Dare mainland, Roanoke Island (except in the Town of Manteo), Kill Devil Hills and Kitty Hawk.

All fireworks are illegal, including sparklers and smoke bombs, in the following towns:

  • The Town of Nags Head
  • The Town of Duck – though fireworks can be purchased in Duck, they are all prohibited and any use is punishable by a $250 fine and a mandatory court appearance.
  • The Town of Southern Shores – strictly enforces the firework ban, punishable by a fine of up to $1000 or up to 30 days incarceration.
  • The Town of Manteo – the code of ordinances says “No shooting of firecrackers, sky rockets, Roman candles or other fireworks of any description is permitted within the town limits by any person.”
  • Hatteras Island(which includes the villages of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras Village) – any person violating county ordinance will be guilt of a Class 3 misdemeanor and fined $250.
Get the latest headlines sent to you

Craving fabulous fireworks? Leave it to the experts and visit one of the community displays in Corolla, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo, Avon, Ocracoke and Swan Quarter.



Dare County Arts Council announces executive director transition

Catching their first wave at Hukilau Surf Camp