Dare County Babe Ruth Softball teams excel in state tournament

Published 8:32 am Friday, July 23, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Approximately 90 girls participated in Dare County Babe Ruth Softball this spring on eight teams. The 8U, 10U and 12U Dare County Babe Ruth All-star teams represented Dare County in the State Softball Tournament in New Bern, held June 26 to June 30. All three teams played well. The 10U and 12U teams were runners up in the state tournament.


The 10U team, from left, front row: Hayley Wescott, Peyton Grubbs-Walker, Darcy Gordon, Lily Casias, Alli Cade, Briana Santiago; second row: Hurley Williams, Makenna Gray, Bella Huntingford, McKenzie Dexter, Madison Adams, Leah Dunn; back row: coaches Melissa Gray, Paul Dexter and Shawn Wescott. Courtesy photo


The 8U team, from left: Coach David White, Hadley White, Jayden Ballance, Aubrey Berry, Berkleigh Dexter, Haven Creef, Cay Snead, Mia Drake, Remi Twiddy, Mattie Huntingford, Faith Simmons, Emmy Bodie, Cora Graham and Coach Brad Creef. Not pictured are Coach Lacey Twiddy and Johnny Twiddy. Courtesy photo


Get the latest headlines sent to you


Jersey Mike’s donates $6,000 to Currituck Education Foundation

GED students and new citizens celebrate program completion at BCCC