Dare sets up property purchase, new streets for golf carts

Published 10:01 am Saturday, February 2, 2019

Dare County will purchase a 33,000 square foot lot at the intersection of Barlowe St and N Hwy. 64/264 in Manteo. The lot with two buildings is adjacent to Manteo Elementary School.

The purchase was authorized by the Board of Commissioners in a closed-door meeting Jan. 22.

County manager Robert L. Outten made the announcement when the commissioners returned to the open meeting.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

The property is owned by Kellogg Supply Company, Inc.

The agreed upon price is $900,000. However, Kellogg Supply Company will make a gift of $187,500, making the county’s outlay $712,500.

The county did not state how the land and buildings will be used. The purchase will be financed through the Capital Improvement Plan.

In other action, the board approved unanimously permitting golf carts in Martin’s Point subdivision and Manns Harbor.

At the required public hearing, Joe Staten, president of the Martin’s Point Homeowners Association, spoke in support of the move. The ordinance states that golf carts can be operated in the residential sections of the subdivision.

For Manns Harbor, the ordinance amendment permits golf carts to be operated on the following streets: Mashoes Rd., Harbor Rd., Old Ferry Dock Rd., Preston Twiford Rd., Ina Waterfield Rd., Croatan Way, Old Manns Harbor, Highland Dr., Shipyard Rd. and Hassell Rd.

No person came forward to speak at the hearing for the changes to the commercial services zone, mapped in Colington. The amendment passed unanimously.

Lee Nettles, executive director of the Outer Banks Visitors Bureau, brought to the commissioners a request from the county’s Tourism Board to spend $50,000 from the long term restricted fund. The monies will be used to hire Johnson Consulting, Chicago, to perform a site feasibility and economic impact study for the Soundside Event Site.

The commissioners approved a contract with Waller, Todd & Sadler, Virginia Beach, Va., for architectural and design services for the new Dare County Animal Shelter. A capital project ordinance was amended in the fiscal year 2019 Capital Improvements Plan.

The contract for architectural services is $230,980. With additional services, the ultimate cost for plans is $265,040.

In the Jan. 22 consent agenda, the commissioners approved five-year contracts and agreements with the following Volunteer Fire and Rescue Departments: Avon Volunteer Fire Department, Inc., Buxton Fire Prevention Assoc., Inc., Chicamacomico Banks Volunteer Fire Department, Colington Volunteer Fire Department, Frisco Fire Prevention Assoc., Inc., Hatteras Fire Protective Assoc., Inc., Manns Harbor Volunteer Fire Department, Inc., Southern Shores Volunteer Fire Department, Stumpy Point Volunteer Fire Department and the Hatteras Island Rescue Squad.

Dare County Board of Commissioners committee assignments listed

At the Jan. 22 meeting of the Dare County Board of Commissioners, Chairman Robert L. Woodard announced new committee appointments as a result of the retirement of Jack Shea and the election of Ervin Bateman to that vacant seat.

Below is an updated list of active committee assignments for each commissioner after the action taken on Jan. 22, 2019:

Robert Woodard

Dare County Control Group

Capital Improvements Planning Committee

Dare Bombing Range Advisory Council

Roanoke Island Historical Association

Board of Education liaison (5-on-5)

Dare County Public Facilities Corporation

College of The Albemarle Board of Trustees

Wally Overman

Capital Improvements Planning Committee

Government TV Advisory Board

Board of Education Liaison (5-on-5)

Dare County Public Facilities Corporation

Trillium Health Resources Board

Coastal Studies Institute Board of Directors

Tourism Board

Albemarle Rural Planning Organization, delegate

Airport Authority

Health and Human Services Board

Rob Ross

Audit Committee, chairman

Capital Improvements Planning Committee

Board of Education liaison (5-on-5)

Albemarle Commission

NE Workforce Development Board Consortium

Dare Center Advisory Board

Trillium Health Resources Board

Steve House

Roanoke Island Commission

Bicycle & Pedestrian Safety Coalition

Outer Banks National Scenic Byway

Oregon Inlet Taskforce Advisory Board

Juvenile Crime Prevention Council (JCPC)

Dare County Youth Council Advisory Board

Commission for Working Watermen

Jim Tobin

Cooperative Extension Advisory Council

Oregon Inlet Task Force

Older Adult Services Advisory Council

Community Nursing Home Advisory Committee

Transportation Advisory Board

Danny Couch

Children & Youth Partnership

Waterways Commission

Fessenden Center

Special Motor Vehicle Valuation Review Board

Albemarle Rural Planning Organization, alternate

Ervin Bateman

Audit Committee

Parks & Recreation liaison

Library Board for Dare County

Health & Human Services Board

Albemarle Regional Solid Waste Authority


Work on Bonner Bridge replacement accelerates; community event planned for Feb. 9

Pasquotank Correctional murder trial moved to Dare County