• 70°

26 candidates sign up for third district Congressional campaign

At 4 p.m., Friday, March 8, 26 candidates filed to run for the vacant North Carolina Third District Congressional seat.

Six candidates have signed up to run for the Democratic Party nomination:

Ike Johnson, 205 Country Club Dr., Jacksonville

Dana E. Outlaw, 4921 Morton Rd., New Bern

Richard Bew, 498 Ball Farm Rd., Newport

Ernest T. Reeves, 3013 Noah Ct., Greenville

Gregory Humphrey, 1459 Beulaville Hwy., Beulaville

Allen Thomas, 1108 Bexley Dr., Winterville

Some 17 candidates are seeking the Republican Party nomination:

Phil Law, 842 Gum Branch Rd., Jacksonville

Michele Nix, 3003 Hillman Rd., Kinston

Michael Speciale, 803 Stately Pines Rd., New Bern

Greg Murphy, 502 Queen Annes Rd., Greenville

Gary Ceres, 3228 S Evans St., 3-C, Greenville

Chimer Davis Clark Jr., 1002 Lake N. Shore Dr., Morehead City

Graham Boyd, 923 Jones Wynd, Wake Forest

Celeste Cairns, 9705 Ashley Pl., Emerald Isle

Phil Shepard, 111 Vernon Shepard Lane, Jacksonville

Paul Beaumont, 162 Deerfield Trail, Shawboro

Jeff Moore, 1128 Mountain Laurel Dr., Raleigh

Joan Perry, 1208 Sweetbriar Circle, Kinston

Kevin Baiko, 2121 Tulls Creek Rd., Moyock

Francis X. DeLuca, 200 Preston Arbor Ln., Cary

Eric Rouse, 2856 Alton Phillips Rd., Kinston

Don Cox, 17 Wheat Patch Rd., Belhaven

Mike Payment, 117 Barefoot Ln., Grandy

As of Friday afternoon, only Greg Holt, 2021 US 17 Hwy. N, New Bern, has signed up as a candidate for the Constitution Party.

Two candidates are vying for the Libertarian Party nomination: Shannon W. Bray, 215 Mystic Pine Pl., Apex, and Tim Harris, 1701 Rhem Ave., New Bern.

Dare County Board of Elections will meet at 10 a.m., Tuesday, March 12, to discuss the One Stop (Early Voting) Implementation Plan for the upcoming Special Elections.

The special primary elections for party nominees for Third Congressional District are scheduled for April 30.

The general election will be July 9. But a primary runoff, if necessary, would be held that day instead, if a leading candidate in a primary doesn’t get more than 30 percent of the vote. In that case, the general election would be held Sept. 10.

The third district includes all of Beaufort, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Greene, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, and Tyrrell counties and part of Pitt County.

There is no requirement to live in the congressional district. Five of the 26 candidates live outside the district in Raleigh (Moore), Wake Forest (Boyd), Cary (DeLuca) and Apex (Bray). One of three candidates (Reeves) from Greenville, which is split, lives in the First Congressional District.

Three Republican candidates are current state House members: Reps. Greg Murphy, Phil Shepard and Mike Speciale.

Two Currituck County commissioners are on the Republican candidate list: Paul Beaumont from Shawboro and Mike Payment from Grandy. Also running from Currituck is Kevin Baiko from Moyock.

Four candidates are from New Bern, including current Democratic mayor Dana Outlaw. Another Democrat is a former Greenville mayor, Allen Thomas. Richard Bew is a retired marine and former legislative assistant to the Joint Chiefs of Staff.

Three candidates are from Jacksonville and three from Kinston.

Seven in the 26-candidate field served in the Armed Services, reports the Charlotte Observer.



Special Primary Election, General Election dates set to fill Jones seat

Congressman Walter B. Jones dies at 76


Weekly gas price update for North Carolina


North Carolina Ferry System designated federal Marine Highway Project


Early vote total exceeds 2016; GOP chips at Dems’ advantage


Coast Guard ensign from North Carolina identified as one of servicewomen killed in Alabama plane crash


Dare students go back to school Monday


New welding lab opened at College of The Albemarle’s Dare campus


North Carolina Zoo featured in new Nat Geo WILD series


Taking a dip at Pocosin Lakes National Wildlife Refuge


Applications open for new rent and utility assistance program


Visitation at Cape Hatteras National Seashore up again


Nine Dare County employees receive service pins


Currituck Extension holding hay bale decorating contest


Company that maintains state-owned rest areas settles EEOC lawsuit


Buxton fire claimed lives of four, county confirms


Manteo Planning Board paves the way for COA project, but questions remain


COVID-19 update sees case numbers increasing


Feeling festive? Enter Currituck Extension’s fall arrangement contest


FOCUS: Rods on the Run


Coast Guard confirms family of active duty member unaccounted for in Buxton fire


Four people unaccounted for after early morning structure fire in Buxton


Dare school board delves into back-to-school set up


Object on Buxton beach determined to be live military ordnance


Dare County Finance Department receives award for excellence in financial reporting


Mascots stay the same at Manteo schools