Dare commissioners make appointments

Published 11:22 am Sunday, June 7, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Compiled by Mary Helen Goodloe-Murphy

On June 1, Dare County Board of Commissioners appointed Dare County citizens to 10 different boards, commissions or councils.

– College of The Albemarle Board of Trustees. Robert L. Woodard Sr. was reappointed to the Board of Trustees as the Dare County commissioner representative for four-year term.

Get the latest headlines sent to you

– Fessenden Center Advisory Board. Reappointed to the board are Kenneth Brite, Keith Durham, Hali Easley and John Griffin. Long-serving chair Bonnie Williams received accolades for her leadership from commissioner Danny Couch. Another long-term member Jinny McBride also received thanks for her service. Both women wished not to be reappointed, creating two vacancies. Currently, no one has applied for the board positions.

– Manns Harbor Marina Commission is a seven member group representing recreational, commercial and local interests for the self-governing, mutual-purpose of the Manns Harbor Marina. The commission meets six times per year and reports directly to the Dare County Board of Commissioners. Paul Mann V, Jeff James and Jessie “Troy” Outland were reappointed to the commission.

– Manns Harbor Community Center Board manages and is responsible for upgrading of the village’s community building. The terms of Clyde Gard and Bonny Sawyer expired and they wished to be reappointed, which the Dare commissioners did.

– Juvenile Crime Prevention Council assumes responsibility for assessing needs, funding community-based alternatives for troubled youth who enter the courts and supporting prevention programs. The two-year terms for Melinda Mogowski, Stephen Wescott, Jennifer Alexander, Michael Lewis, Tim White and Marsha Ribner-Cady were set to expire this month. All were reappointed as they requested.

– Veterans Advisory Council serves as a liaison with the community in coordinating services and activities benefiting veterans and their families. Members of the Veterans Advisory Council solicit information and provide updates about community-based activities honoring veterans. As recommended by the council, the commissioners reappointed Richard A. Probst and Marsha Brown.

– Hatteras Community Center Board of Trustees. The two-year terms of Laura C. Young and Rom Whitaker were set to expire. Both were reappointed by the commissioners as requested.

– Dare County Waterways Commission oversees dredging projects and waterways-related issues. Danny Couch, Ernie Foster, Natalie Perry Kavanagh and Steve Coulter were reappointed for two-year terms.

– Dare County Transportation Advisory Board. Ginny Zdanski was reappointed to a four-year term.

– East Lake Community Center Board manages the use of the community building and holds fundraisers to maintain the building. Shelly Perrot resigned as of April 1. The board recommended appointment of Erin Dennison to complete the term to July 2022. The commissioners appointed Dennison.



Rodanthe bridge update presented by NCDOT

Nags Head discusses proposed budget at workshop